A Planted Shrimp Vase - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-15-2014, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
A Planted Shrimp Vase

I currently started a new project with a vase I had laying around. Being in college they limit the size of aquarium we can have and since I already have a betta tank I decided I wanted something small and cheap. Currently I have what was once a vase (2 gallons), some HC, Rock, and Eco Complete substrate. The problem I am running in to is that the vase is relatively small and ,being that I would like to keep shrimp in it, I am wondering if I will need a heater and filter. Currently the light I am using provides enough heat to keep the tank at 75*F. I am very new to the shrimp game and know very little about them so I have been treating them like normal fish. So my question is do the shrimp need any heating, filtering? if so what filter/heater do you recommend for such a small space. I have seen many nano tank setups but the ones I have seen do not have rounded sides. Any help is appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender.jpg
Views:	309
Size:	48.0 KB
ID:	379817  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-15-2014, 07:46 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
So long as you don't have any big temperature swings and you do weekly water changes, you won't need either a heater or filter for the vase.

Looks like the exact same 2g vase I ran for almost two years with a mix of 1-2 ghost shrimp, 8-15 cherry culls, a pair of breeding endlers (fry were removed as they showed up to feed to my angelfish) and several dozen pond snails. No heater, no filter, and an average of weekly 25% water changes.
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-16-2014, 12:51 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (4/100%)