nano potted plants?? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
nano potted plants??

Hey everyone!
Ever since I saw Scolley's "Son of Kahuna" tank (which I think looks SO amazing- https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ph...ahuna-56k.html) I have really really wanted to set up a tank the same sort of way with a minimal sand bottom and plants only in pots and on driftwood.
Well lucky for me ...I've been pretty unhappy with my 5 gallon hex since I set it up and I'm thinking this could be a good opportunity for a fun/interesting project.
So here's the question: Anyone have good suggestions on nano potted plants? Also, since I've never done potted plants in a tank before, what kind of soil/substrate would you use in the pot?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 07:25 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

What about root tabs crushed up and mixed with regular smaller gravel for substrate in the pots?
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 07:39 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (17/100%)
Every potted plant I've ever bought had stonewool as the medium. I see no reason to be experimental here-- just use stonewool.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 08:51 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (61/100%)
rockwool isnt good for the tank. it would be better to try and get real plastic or clay pots used for terrestrial plants (small ones like for raising plantlets, or for cacti/succulents) and fill them with a good aquatic soil, like eco complete.

My Tanks:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
-
-
-

Eheim Pimp #296
Canon Pimp #67
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 08:54 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by @[email protected] View Post