4 Gallon Nano - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-09-2008, 10:11 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (6/100%)
4 Gallon Nano

Ok, first off, this is my first attempt at an aquarium of any kind, so don't expect anything spectacular. I recently bought the 4 Gallon Finnex setup off ebay.

Tank: 4 Gallon Finnex glass tank (12" x 7.5" x 10" high)

Lighting: 13w PC fixture (silver aluminum hood, with polished reflector, acrylic lens)

Filter: HOB filter (31.5 gallon per hour flow, sponge and carbon cartridge filtration)

Heater: Visi-Therm Stealth 25watt heater

Substrate: ADA Aqua Soil Amazonia II Powder

Plants: Tropica Fern, Fissiden Fontanus, Peacock moss (Taxiphyllum sp.) Dwarf Sag (sagittaria subulata) Dwarf Hairgrass (Eleocharis parvula) HC 'cuba' (Hemianthus callitrichoides) Anubias Nana 'petite'

Inhabitants: Red Cherry Shrimp (Once tank is cycled)

Ok, now on to some pictures...

This picture was taken when I first set the tank up. I had bought that Tropica Fern from Petco. It is actually a pretty good looking plant considering it came from Petco. I believe this picture was taken on 05/02/08. I was waiting for my other plants to arrive from MrJG.

Once the plants arrived from MrJG (thanks again!) I went ahead and planted them. Here is a picture taken on 05/08/08.

And here is a shot of the tank from today, 05/09/08. As you can see I moved a few of the plants. I still am not sure if I like this setup or not. I might be moving some more stuff around. I ordered some excel and a nice pair of long tweezers so once those arrive I plan on draining the tank and breaking up the HC and spreading it out more in hopes of making a nice carpet with it.

And here is one more picture from today of the full tank shot.