New to Plants - 10 Gallon - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 09:09 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to Plants - 10 Gallon

Hello, first post here and looking for some advice.

I am restricted to only having a 10 gallon tank so i decided to go a planted route. I've been keeping cichlids for over 2 years and a new tank sounded like fun. I have questions for just about everything as i haven't done a tank this small yet. To get started im going to be using a 10 gallon standard glass tank, 24x8x12 or so.

Substrate:
I am probably going to use eco-complete but i was unsure if i should put a layer below that of peat, fluorite or another nutrient based soil? Also how deep is appropriate for plants or does that vary on the choice of plants?

Filtration:
I like the aquaclear 20 seems like that will be sufficient filtration for this little tank. Would this be appropriate? Would altering the media in the filter be a good idea or no?

Fish:
I'm either thinking a school of tetras or a few apisto's. I'm not sure if the apisto's would work for a small tank like this, let me know. What other sorts of non-fish inhabitants would work well?

C02:
I plan on using a DIY 2 two-liter bottles with a separation bottle to ensure theres no liquid that could get into the tank. I'm not sure what to do with the product end of the line. Can i hide in within the filter? Is there a better way to do it?

Plants:
Unsure yet have to check the local stores but I'm thinking a few tall/medium plants and some grass/moss type plants. I would like to have a nice thick cover on my substrate of green. A decent sized piece of driftwood with a plant or two attached to it.

Fertilizer:
Any recommendations as a general fert or does that depend on plant choice? Or is that unnecessary due to substrate?

Thanks for the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-18-2008, 09:49 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
Quote: