planted 3 gallon nano - My first try! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-13-2008, 07:19 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
planted 3 gallon nano - My first try!

Hello everyone!

Well, this is my first time posting here and my first time setting up a planted freshwater aquarium. I've done a few saltwater aquariums successfully in the past so I'm hoping this project won't be as difficult. Somehow I have a feeling I'm wrong.

Here is a rundown of what I have:

3 gallon desk aquarium
3 stage power filter
18 W compact fluorescent with 50/50 14,000 actinic & 7,400 daylight
(lighting came with kit)

For substrate I'm using Seachem Onyx. I would have preferred EcoComplete, but the lfs didn't have any and I was excited to get started and purchased the Onyx instead. I was told to use Spring water by the lfs if I didn't have RO water available. This tank is being placed on my desk at my office. My desk sits near a very large window in our auto showroom. ( lots of light from outside) I have a feeling the little light that came with it will be too much and is designed for saltwater aquariums. Can I make it work or will I have to purchase a new one ( which I'd rather not do, since I already have one).

Here are some questions that I have. Should I use co2 or go without? I also purchased FloraPride plant fertilizer made by TetraPlant. Again, I would have preferred Flourish but they were out. I have absolutely no idea which plants I will be getting since I'm still doing research on them. I know they will have to be very small maybe dwarf plants of some kind that do well in nano tanks. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

So, that's it so far. I know I've probably made some mistakes already because of my impatience so you can give me a tougue lashing now before I go too far with this. I'm willing to correct any mistakes I've made no matter what. I really want this little guy to look nice.
Sponsored Links