Multiple Issues - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-10-2014, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Angry Multiple Issues

Hey everyone. I'm new to this game and need some help in a big way.

I currently have two 2.5g planted tanks setup - 1 is at work and is doing great and 1 is at home and not doing so great.

Here are the details for the one at home:
2.5g
Lighting: 14w 5000k CFL Desk Lamp
Subtrate: CaribSea® FloraMax
Plants: cardinal plant x1; anubias x1; sword x2; hair grass x2; java fern x1; crypt x1; El Nino fern x1
Inhabitants: 1 Betta Splendid; 3 Habrosus Cory; 1 Nerite snail and now only 1 Ghost Shrimp
Filter: Jardin sponge filter
Heated to 76F

So here is my issue, I set up the tank and wanted to do a fish-in cycle. Planted the tank and introduced the Betta. All was going good and then I got Crypt Melt :-(. I diligently cleaned the tank making sure there was no left over decaying plant and within a few days noticed small white worms which i have yet to identify as either detritus worms or nematodes. So now I am trying to get rid of those by introducing the cory's and more water changes. I have noticed more worms after I turn the light back on in the morning so I am assuming they are coming out more at night. I added an extra air stone along with the sponge filter thinking that if they are detritus worms the added O2 may help. but every morning there are a ton of them and i have to baste them out and do a water change.