Newbie's Nano tank (5 gallons) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-05-2007, 02:42 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie's Nano tank (5 gallons)

I have this marine land Eclipse corner 5 gallon tank. It used to be a fish only tank with a cave, a snail shell, a bamboo setup and few plastic plants. I got to know this site few days back and wanted to try a planted tank. Once again, I am totally new to this and have no idea what I am doing. This morning I went to local stores and few chains(pet smart, petco). I got 15lbs fluorite, a drift wood from walmart, 10w compact florescent bulb and few plants(money wort, rotala and other I don't know); are these recommend plants? I used to have polished gravel before and there is no water clouding. The fluorite is extremely muddy and clouded my tank. To the driftwood, I placed some Java moss and tied it with a cotton thread(does it grown on this driftwood?)

Current setup:

5 gallon tank(Inbuilt 3 stage filter)
Pen plax 50W heater.
No co2( I can't put any co2 in there, as the hood doesn't have space to put the tube in...) Can I use flourish excel?
few plants.

Let me know if my plants survive with this setup.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5966.jpg
Views:	382
Size:	113.6 KB
ID:	4624  

Last edited by denrama; 11-05-2007 at 02:52 AM. Reason: Photo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-05-2007, 02:52 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (60/100%)