Starting my first planted tank, need help... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-25-2014, 06:44 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Starting my first planted tank, need help...

Hello, I've done a lot of reading here and I'm reading so many different things that I think it'd be best if I explain what I'm hoping to do and hopefully you guys and point me in the right direction

I have 10+ years of experience in Saltwater aquariums but I'm getting out of that hobby and I'd like to keep a small planted nano. That said I have an empty 29 gallon biocube all in one with the filtration area in the back. I figure instead of having a canister I can just add a couple trays back there so the water can pass through the media that way. Here's the tank, it obviously needs a little more cleaning...

I found this tank, it's pretty appealing to me and I"m thinking I'll go a little towards this direction... I like that he uses both dark and light substrate for the exposed part. It's really cool when the exposed white gravel looks like a path leading to the back of the tank but that's usually done on large aquariums.

I like the spread out minimalist 'scapes but you seem to need a lot of open area to accomplish that look...

I found this group of rock on eBay that I might get to start playing with the aquascape, its all about $40 shipped...

there's some cool pieces with some nice crevices to plant stuff. I'm just looking to do some low maintenance stuff, hopefully I won't need to run a co2 bottle or a crazy light.