first planted...nano? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-20-2007, 04:52 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
first planted...nano?

Ok, so I've been running a 45 gallon reef for over 3 years now, and decided i want to do something a little different. One of my friends was throwing out a 2.5 gallon, and I decided I will do a nano. I was going to to a nano reef, but though about how I haven't touched anything freshwater in a few years. I have never had a planted tank ( always had aggressive freshwater fish). So basically I am looking for info on starting up a nano planted tank. I am used to cycling a saltwater tank, and keep seeing that you have to cycle a planted before adding any livestock. please let me know if there are any write-ups or threads that you think would help me to get an idea of what I'm in for. Thank you for your time.

Jon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-20-2007, 08:09 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (42/100%)
There is a method of cycling FW called the planted cycle, which is very similar to cycling with live rock. Basically you stuff the tank to the max with healthy plants and add a fish, then work slowly on stocking from there, the plants will absorb some of the ammonia and also help seed the tank with their bacterial colonies. It's not as sure fire as LR, and might be really difficult in a 2.5, but is possible, especially if you start off with some shrimp and don't plan on over stocking anyway. I would just try to get all of the substrate, filter if you're going to use one, and plants from a well established tank.