Need 10-gallon advice... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-02-2004, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hello everyone!

After doing reef tanks for the past few years, I've decided to try something different. I used to shy away from freshwater aquariums because they generally aren't as beautiful as the marine tanks. Well, I changed my mind after seeing a few of Takashi Amano's tanks as well as ones done by other people. They're prettier than the reef tanks in my opinion!

Anyway, I'm a newbie at all of this but I have been researching as much as I can. Let me give you my setup, what I'm wanting to do, then I'd like to hear some of your suggestions:

Tank: 10-gallon

Substrate: Red Sea Flora Base

Lighting: Fixture holds two bulbs, 1 Coralife 10,000k Daylight and 1 Coralife 50/50

Filtration: Penguin Bio-Wheel 125

Tank has been setup for one day and I need to get to cycling it.

What I'm wanting to do is start out simply. I'd like to decorate with some local rocks and maybe a nice piece of driftwood, as well as keep a nice population of plants. I'm only looking at having the easier, beginner plants for now. If I get more into the hobby, then maybe I'll consider the tougher stuff. Right now I don't have the money to spend on fancy CO2 systems, etc. What are some good beginner plants to use in the background, as well as something that forms a nice "carpet" or "turf". I love the look of the tanks with a bed of grass covering the bottom. As far as inhabitants, I think I'll try it with guppies. They're beautiful, hardy, easy to breed and raise, and very peaceful. I might keep a little army of grass shrimp with them to clean algae, on top of the fact that I just really like them I also need to put some other kind of algae-eater in there to keep things under control.

So, do you think I can pull this off with this setup? What kind of plants do you recommend?