New guy, first planted tank build thread. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-19-2006, 08:11 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Cool New guy, first planted tank build thread.

Hello guys, I am new to the planted side of the fish hobby. I have been keeping a marine nano for 3 years now with great success.

I am wanting to construct and maintaine a "waters edge" style tank. Now, what I mean by this is that I want it to look as if it has tree roots and plants onlon the side of a deep bank of land. Here's what I am thinking.

I will use Great Stuff foam to make the banks edge and make several holes/ledges where I can plant plants and also place one or two pieces of driftwood on it and have the bottum of the wood look like (for lack of a better term) fingers going down into the substrate.

I would like to keep a school of neon tetras along with 2 or 3 oddball fish.

Now, here's my list of things to get (and some that I already have) not mentioned above.
  • 15g (24x12x12) framless tank
  • Filter...I need a suggestion on this one, but I am thinking HOB with a bio-wheel
  • Heater
  • Lighting...I also need some suggestions on this one, I want to be able to grow anything I put in the tank. Keep it under $100 if you can.
  • For substrate, I am thinking of going with 20 lbs of Eco-Complete Plant Substrate.
  • Um...will I need a CO2 System? If so, which one would you all suggest?

I think that's basically it for the most part, anything I forget? What do you all think?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-20-2006, 05:00 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (7/100%)
If you're going to inject CO2 skip on the biowheel. These are excellant at gassing off CO2, and will make it a real pain to acheive good CO2 levels. AquaClear filters are relatively inexpensive and have large areas for filter media.