New 6.6 gal tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-10-2006, 08:56 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New 6.6 gal tank

So I've decided to set up a 6.6 gal cube tank. I'm totally new at this planted tank hobby, I've had freshwater before and I currently have an 80 gal. saltwater reef.

Here are the things I'm starting with:
1. 6.6 gal cube tank
2. Hood with PC 1x27W 10,000K and 1x27W Actinic
3. Substrate: Azoo plant grower bed
4. Ceramic noodles and activated carbon in the second chamber of the cube
5. 50W heater
6. Return pump 400 l/hr in the third chamber

I'm planning on getting the Hagen CO2 ladder to install it on the first chamber.I would like to know if the stuff that I got is good to start or do I have to get something else?

I have a RO/DI filter but I've been reading that this is not necesary. So is it better to add tap water instead, and add stress coat and stress zime or Tetra aqua safe. Which plants do you recommend me to start with. I currently have a 5 gallon bowl with 5 tetra neon and 1 betta that I will traspass to the new planted tank as soon as you tell me.

Thanks....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-10-2006, 09:28 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (51/100%)
Send a message via AIM to mrbelvedere Send a message via Yahoo to mrbelvedere
Actinic ain't doing any good.

Also, 54 watts over a 6 gallon is going to be a hell of a time. Even with pressurized CO2, you are basically only going to be growing algae.

In college....so no aquariums for a while.....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-10-2006, 10:15 PM Thread Starter

Ok, so i'll let only the 1x27W 10000K on and another thing is how long do I have to let it on?

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-13-2006, 07:29 PM
Planted Member

Hi gferreira, nice to see another Mexican member on this site !! Where do you live ?