Total Plant Newbie looking for nano tank ideas - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-31-2006, 06:32 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Total Plant Newbie looking for nano tank ideas

Hello everybody!

I'm a completely clueless plant newbie. I admit that I have always copped out and gone with silk plants in the past, except for a small, decorative piece of bamboo that I've managed to keep alive and happy somehow.

Now, I have two small fish tanks, each containing one betta. I do water changes twice a week on these two, since they're such small tanks. I'd like to spruce up the surroundings a bit and get them some live plants, but I have no idea where to start! So I was hoping for a bit of advice.

The female's tank is really small until I can afford a larger one, so I don't know if any plants would be a good idea for hers. Still, here are the stats on it:
1 US Gallon
glass bead substrate
two silk plants
1 female betta

The male's is larger, so I think a plant is more plausible for him.
2.5 US Gallons
glass bead substrate
ceramic cave
ceramic tomato-shaped hiding place
1 male betta

I would really appreciate any tips anybody might have for me. Thank you so much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-31-2006, 06:47 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (7/100%)
Unless you stick to plants like Anubias and Java Fern which can be tied to driftwood and rocks, you'll want to change your substrate out for something smaller grained. Those glass beads will be nearly impossible to keep anything rooted in it.