Planting a 5 gal tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-17-2006, 05:49 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Planting a 5 gal tank

I got i 5 gal tank from my budie the other day and was thinking of planting it. As you can see from my name i am new at this. So in the tank hood i have place for two 25 watt bulbs. Is this too much light for such a small tank(is there such a thing?) Since i can have a min of 5wpg, i know i should have a CO2 system. So i say a system and was wondering if i would work.
(http://cgi.ebay.com/HAGEN-NUTRAFIN-C...QQcmdZViewItem)
I also know that i need good gravle, i was thinking of putting sand as a top level . As a first level i would put (http://bigalsonline.com/catalog/prod...tegory_id=3145)
and i would use this as me sand
(http://bigalsonline.com/catalog/prod...tegory_id=2429)
I was wondering if im going in the right direction? Tips would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance for all the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-17-2006, 05:58 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Send a message via AIM to seastar0328 Send a message via MSN to seastar0328 Send a message via Yahoo to seastar0328
I am in no way qualified to answer any technical questions as of yet as I am still a "newb" myself, so I will not try to answer your main questions but I can give you a bit of my experience with my 5.5 gal tank. I have 30 Watts on it and still have a hard time controlling my temperature in there unless I turn my lights off and on periodically during the day which has been a pain. I am sure others here can give you the specific answers to your questions to help you along further. I would be interested myself in knowing the answer to this lighting question as I am still searching for a viable answer.