10g tank. Comments please! <56k warning> 5.28.06 New Pics! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-29-2006, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (10/100%)
10g tank. Comments please! <56k warning> 5.28.06 New Pics!

Hello I'm a noob to planted tanks, and i wanted some tips on my tank. Make it look better. Unfortunately i have a VERY low budget, being 14 years old. THis tank is about half an year old.
Here are some pics

Water: tested with Jungle Quick Dip 5-n-1 Test Strips
Nitrate:0
Nitrite:0
Hardness:300
Alkalinity: dunno this part is weird. Half of the thing is one color half of it is another color. the top half shows its 300kh and the bottom shows 80. (does this mean nething????)
PH:7.8

Also i just started doing DIY co2 through a limewood diffuser.

Fish:One otocinclus, and about 13 white clouds
Plants:
Hygrophila difformis
Dwarf Saggitaria
Anubias (nana?)
Willow moss
some crypt
hornwort
anacharis

O yah and the pics i took at that time were at late at night so the wisteria r more "open" in the day.

Last edited by sandiegoryu; 05-29-2006 at 05:55 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-30-2006, 12:20 AM

PTrader: (2/100%)
I would say you might need some red plants
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-30-2006, 12:48 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

What red plants do you recommend? I would want something low tech and readily available. I have either 2wpg or 4wpg. I dont remember... Either the bulbs were both 10 watts or 20 watts.

post #4 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-30-2006, 12:56 AM

PTrader: (1/100%)
Some of the reddish brown crypts will grow well even if you have low light. (I grew them in my tank -- SLOWLY -- with less than 1 WPG for almost a year before upgrading my lighting to 2.5 wpg.) And they are pretty readily available -- my LFS has them often, and I've seen crypts at Petsmart from time to time.
post #5 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-30-2006, 01:13 AM Thread Starter