Low vs. Medium Light Planted Nanos - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2006, 10:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Low vs. Medium Light Planted Nanos

while I'm not new to aquariums, I am new to planted tanks and this forum. (Hello! What an awesome place!)

I'm doing some research for a planted tank I plan to setup in my office. After much thought, I'm 99% sure I want to go with an Eclipse 3 gallon.

I've decided I'm going to start with a low-tech approach because I'm not comfortable with trying my hand at CO2 yet. As a result, I'm going to stick with the stock 6w light.

I know I need low light plants, but I have a question before I start making my final choices. Several articles on the internet refer to medium light plants. I always thought under 3wpg was low light and over 3wpg was high light. Can someone set me straight on watt requirements? Is 2wpg definitely in the low light only range or is it seeping into the medium light range?

If you have any suggestions on small plants that would thrive in a 3 gallon home with only 2wpg, I would love your advice!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2006, 10:56 PM
Algae Grower

I have an Odyssea 5 gallon cube on my desk right now. Cheaper than the Eclipse.. and has an 18 watt light. Looks nicer too with a curved glass front. Or, you could try one of the JBJ cubes. I struggled too long trying to make a 3 gallon Eclipse into a nice planted tank. Doesn't work real well unless you do a retrofit.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2006, 11:00 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (25/100%)