My Evolve 4 - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-28-2013, 12:29 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
My Evolve 4

I found the Evolve 4 at my local Petco for $34.98 and couldn't resist!

I decided to set it up and try my hand at some plants again. I'm thinking of putting a dwarf puffer in here as I've had them before and really enjoy them.

I purchased sand(I've never used sand before, but I Love the look of it) and a piece of driftwood and set it up:

I replaced the filter cartridge with a bag of carbon, a big foam pad and put biomax on the right side where the pump is:

Today I went out and purchased some plants! Purchased an anubias and two java fern. I also started cycling the tank.

The front right corner looks lonely. I'm not completely satisfied with how the tank looks. Thinking of adding moss or something. Any suggestions? I really want to put in some dwarf hairgrass but I don't know how to plant it with the sand?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-28-2013, 01:29 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (11/100%)
Looks ok for a start. Quick tip, remove the carbon as it might remove some stuff that's useful for plants.
Hairgrass would look nice but might have a hard time thriving in just plain sand and the stock light. You can try it and see what happens. Or buy some and try growing it in regular soil and transfer to the tank when there's enough to cover the front area.

Nikon Pimp #41
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-28-2013, 01:54 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by xev11 View Post
Looks ok for a start. Quick tip, remove the carbon as it might remove some stuff that's useful for plants.
Hairgrass would look nice but might have a hard time thriving in just plain sand and the stock light. You can try it and see what happens. Or buy some and try growing it in regular soil and transfer to the tank when there's enough to cover the front area.