My First Tank; Eclipse 3 Gallon - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 01:54 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
My First Tank; Eclipse 3 Gallon

Hello, this is my first attempt at a planted tank. It is an eclipse 3 that has been running for almost a month now. I have been trying to figure out what other things to add to it because I would like to get some more variety growing in there, any suggestions.

I also have a six gallon that should be clear enough show soon.

Last edited by AlaskaRiver; 02-20-2006 at 04:54 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 05:58 AM Thread Starter

Just another View

Just a view from the side of the tank looking towards the driwftwood.
[IMG][/IMG]
The tank contains; 4 small guppies, 1 otto, 3 cherry shrimp, 3 ghost shrimp, 1 mystery snail and some snails that came along for the ride. Also I switched out the light to a 13w with a retro fit kit from AH. What other plants would look good in here?
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 11:31 PM
Algae Grower

The only problem I see is the otto, he may be a little strapped for swimming room.
As for plants:

Watersprite (you almost can't kill it and it looks cool)
Pennywort (same story)
Small Vals
Crypts that have small foliage

Whatever you want really, you have WAY adequate light, if you feel the need for CO2, go with a small DIY and you could REALLY do anything you want that's small enough.

-Brendan

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 11:51 PM

Very nice. One of my favorite plants is pennywort (Hydrocotyle leukocephala) but it would be a bit too large for this tank. I really think that Hemianthus micranthemoides or Hemianthus callitrichoides would look very nice. Crypt lucens would look nice and grows easily for me. A small grouping of petite nana would be very good too.

A row of corkscrew val along the back wall might be good too.