Utter & Complete Newbie - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-26-2013, 05:43 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Red face Utter & Complete Newbie

So I have no idea how I ended up being obsessed with starting a freshwater planted tank but I have. I have never kept a tank in my life. I have been researching a bit for the past month or so but on a lot of the forums, the newbies are usually not as newbie as me haha. So before I go out and buy a bunch of stuff and have it die, I wanted to get as much info as humanly possible out of you guys.

I am thinking about setting up a low-light planted 12g or so. Probably will have a few ghost shrimp ( not sure how many i should have) and tetras and/or guppies? I have no idea how many of each either or if there is a better combo. Im open to any and all suggestions

So starting with substrate... am I just using something like flourite plant substrate or do i need potting soil as well or something completely different?

Then with cycling... is it best to cycle for a month or so with just water and gravel or should I do that only for a few weeks and then add plants and let that cycle for a few more weeks or should I just plant right away and let it cycle that way. What are some of your guys' suggested cycle methods ie fish food, liquid drops, ive heard of adding a raw shrimp?

As for plants, it wasnt too hard to find some good suggestions for low-light plants, but if you guys have some good places to order plants or if you have any of your own specific suggestions for plant types for a beginner, like me, let me know.

Okay next, how do I go about adding fish/shrimp? Im assuming I shouldnt be adding a bunch at one time but I am not really sure at all.

Also, any tips for lighting, filters, etc. would be helpful