7.5 shallow - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-01-2005, 07:56 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Smile 7.5 shallow

Hello,

I'm new to planted aquariums but I feel very comfortable with reef tanks as well as freshwater fish only tanks. I need feedback on my dream for the perfect Southeast Asian (Indian) biotope...

I'm currently in the planning stages for a new aquarium that will be set up in January to house a trio of dwarf puffers and 2 ottos. The aquarium is 7.5 gallons, 24"L x 12.5"W x 6"H. I bought this lighting unit which has 28 watts of total lighting. I realize this will be extremely too high for such a shallow aquarium (right?) so I figured I'd take out the full spectrum bulb so it would only be 14 watts of 6500K T5 lighting. I bought a 100gph biowheel filter...if the flow is too high, I'll have to take it back, but I figured since it is such a long aquarium, I'll mount it on one side of the tank so it flows longwise (make sense?). The substrate will be pool filter sand...and only that unless someone recommends anything else. I don't plan putting on a CO2 system or dosing fertilizers unless absolutely necessary. The tank will be cycled fishlessly.

The questions is, what kind of plants can I keep in a setup like this? I'd like colorful plants that aren't impossible to keep alive and that won't outgrow the tank too quickly. I'd like lots of variety and pretty colors. I want to have driftwood and rocks as well, so some encrusting plants would be nice. I have java moss and java fern right now (in another tank). Obviously, I'm trying to create a biotope so I'll need native plants (This website lists native plants). Which ones should I try? Other suggestions?

I think that's about it. If you're still with me, thank you!!! Lol, I really appreciate your help. If I've left anything important off, please let me know.

Thanks!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-01-2005, 09:33 PM