New to Nanos - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-28-2005, 04:53 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to Nanos

Hi,

I just found this forum and I'm new to nanos. I've only ever had fancy goldfish and am ready to try my hand at a real planted tank. I want to start small so I'll do some reading here first.

I never realized how beautiful a planted tank can be!

Thanks
C.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-28-2005, 05:24 PM

Welcome to the boards! Planted nanos are a lot of fun. Your best place to start would probably be a 10 gallon or so. Anything smaller and they start to get complicated... Good luck!
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-28-2005, 09:54 PM Thread Starter

I found a 2 or 3 gallon acrylic tank with a filter and a light in the storage of my building that was abandoned. It seems to work. Couldn't I set up a really simple one with that? I'm still reading up on 'em.

C.

post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-28-2005, 11:15 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (20/100%)
Growing aquarium plants and learning to aquascape is a really fun and challenging hobby. It's a good mix between biology, chemistry and art. Plenty of geeky stuff to dive into if you want and lots and lots of things you'll only learn through experimenting and the payoff is having a beautiful, peaceful nature scene in your home or office that can relax you no matter what might be on your mind at the time.

Contrary to the way it is in most cases with most things, starting out smaller is not a good idea with aquariums. I would also recommend a 10 gallon and here's why: