CANADA: Nano Planted Tank - Planning stages - Feedback please! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 03:10 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
CANADA: Nano Planted Tank - Planning stages - Feedback please!

Hi everyone,

I am planning to setup a planted 6 gallon nanocube. I plan on having:

-Cherry Shrimps
-Xmas moss
-Neon/Cardinal Tetras

I'm in the KW area in Ontario, Canada and I previously had a 120 gallon planted tank in Singapore.

This is my first attempt at a planted tank in Canada, so I'm looking for suggestions as to where I can pick up the above items. I'm willing to drive as far as TO or London, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:39 PM
Planted Member

Welcome onboard !

- Marge
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-29-2005, 01:57 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (-1/0%)
Wink

go to Big als at Steeles and Young,, they have lots of plants and some SHRIMP!!!

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-30-2005, 02:14 PM Thread Starter

Okay, after some reconsideration, I've decided to change my plans.

I am looking to pick up one of the frameless bow front tanks this weekend....haven't really decided on the size, but it will probably be between 2-5 gallons.

Plants will still be Xmas moss and possibly riccia...

Livestock will be cherry shrimps and tetras(depending on the size of the tank).

Here're a couple of questions though:

1) What sort of lighting should I go for?
2) Do I need any sort of water movement or filtration for a tank like this?

Thank you!
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-01-2005, 12:45 AM
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by szesteve
1) What sort of lighting should I go for?
2) Do I need any sort of water movement or filtration for a tank like this?
1. I would suggest a 70 watt MH pendent light, you would be much happier in the long run. Here's a link to a group buy for a good light.