Total Newb needs answers - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-30-2005, 01:30 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Total Newb needs answers

I am trying to put together a small planted tank to help with high stress levels and give me something to do besides video games.

What I have:
5 gallon tank (16"x8" or so)
Bag of fluorite
Hagen Co2 reactor and ladder
Whisper mini filter
Bottle of Flourish excel

My questions pertain to lighting. The only lighting I have found the span my entire tank is a single bulb 16" T8 strip light. I think we are talking abou 11-14w of light. I have seen the coralife 12" hood which is much brighter but doesn't span the whole tank. Also I could fit two coralife aqualight minis over my tanks is I turned them sideways ( II II instead of ==) but that would also leave areas with no coverage. Should I just buck up and shell out the cash for a 5 gallon cube with the 12" light?

What lighting do you think is best? I would like to keep more than java moss/fern. Another option is creating an overflow in the tank with a piece of acrylic tanking the width down to 12". I just have a feeling that a blue ram is going to want the whole tank to swim around in.

Also I would love to hear opinions on which plants would be great for my tank 16" striplight vs. 12" Power compacts.

Thanks for the help, more questions to follow I am sure.

Tim
<"}}><
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-30-2005, 03:27 PM

PTrader: (1/100%)
If your tank is the ususal 5 gallon AG size and shape, then I would highly suggest just upgrading to a 10 gallon. It would be like what, 10 bucks? Trust me, you'll be frustrated with theb 5 g's small space, and I'm sure your ram would appreciate the upgrade. All your old equipment would work fine, and it would justify shelling out the bucks for a *good* light.