Step 1: Choosing a Tank - To Kit or Not to Kit? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-24-2012, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Talking Step 1: Choosing a Tank - To Kit or Not to Kit?

Hello everyone,

After reading up on the DW method and Tom Barr's low tech for the past several weeks, I've decided to finally take the plunge and set up one of these tanks. As stated in the title, I'm in the process of finding a good tank. I'm going to put the tank on my desktop, so I'm looking for something in the 5 to 9 gallon range. The inhabitants will be a single dwarf puffer and maybe some shrimp (if the puffer allows it). I haven't figured out what plants I'll be using, but since this is my first time trying this method, I'll probably stick with mostly easy plants and maybe some more difficult ones if I'm feeling adventurous.

At first I was considering getting an aquarium kit (like the Fluval Ebi) to save time and hassle, but I know the criticism is that the equipment included in these kits are usually cheap, and the person will end up replacing all the components anyways.

So that led me to ADA and Schuber-Wright. My understanding is that both brands are high clarity and look great, but I was wondering what other alternatives I have. I noticed that both styles are boxy and have sharp edges, whereas the Fluval Ebi has rounded edges. Is there a place that sells high clarity glass aquariums with rounded edges? Where are some good sites to go to start looking for nice tanks?

Victor
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-24-2012, 05:49 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
I'd go with one of these little bad boys, they come in 2.6 gal, 3.7 gal, or 5.3 gal. The filter is built right into the back of it, all you need is a small heater, substrate, and live stock.

I like them because of the price, and they look better than the ebi, flora, and the edge.