fluval flora newbie first atempt picture heavy. a little advice? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-21-2012, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (6/100%)
Post fluval flora newbie first atempt picture heavy. a little advice?

hi, ive had many aquariums as a kid and have experience with growing a wide range of plants and vegetables but this is my first attempt at merging the two hobbies together into a planted tank. i started with a fluval chi and fluval flora but had to shut the chi down so ended up with many fish in the flora. im currently experiencing some problems hoping the planted tank community can help.

tank: fluval flora 7.9 gallons

equipment: ditched all orignal equipment. eheim 2215 (turned down), milwaukee co2 regulator on paintball tank 90bpm set on timer 1 hour before lights and off 1 hour before lights through a nano diffuser, 32 watt 6500k cfl in a zoomed mini deep dome reflector sitting 5 inches above water line on timer 10 hours a day.

substrate: eco complete

fertilizer: seachem flourish dosing 1ml every other day.

flora: anubias on driftwood, hc, java moss, some kind of crypt, marimo ball, and an unknown plant.

fauna: 5 neon tetras, 2 cardinal tetras, 5 rummy red nose tetras, 3 rasboras.
also have 3 zebra snails, 2 crs, 2 rcs, and had a blue shrimp that died this morning.

started like this.

slowly comming together

got 2 here

tank as it sits today 9/21/12

plants

shrimp

equipment