New to the hobby -got the tank, now what? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-24-2012, 08:10 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Talking New to the hobby -got the tank, now what?

Hi all, I've kept aquariums in the past but never something comparable to a planted tank. I'm excited and just picked up a 5 gal and some substrate.

Now what? After looking around here, I've decided on (so far):
  • Finnex Nano Pure Power Filter
  • Finnex Aquarium Nano Refugium Cliplight (including 6500k Bulb & Moonlight LED)
Question is, can I even use that filter? Do I need a heater? Not going with an C02 setups (imo, tanks too small for something so elaborate now)
As for plants, I'm looking to get some Riccia, Pellia and some Marimo balls. Then later on, some shrimps!
What do you guys think? I welcome comments that state the obvious since I'm rather new at it and haven't got down any lingo.
(sorry mods for posting a similar thread in 'California')
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-24-2012, 09:41 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (26/100%)
Welcome to TPT!

I'm not familiar with that filter, but I think that's the same light I have. If it is, that's going to be a lot of light for a 5 gallon tank. I have it over a 25g tank and it grows moss, riccia, crypts, and ferns. Since you're also planning on low light plants I would say go for a light that's either less wattage or something that you can adjust the height. Fluval makes a 13w clip on light if you like that look. No moonlight though.

As far as a heater, that depends on what you plan on keeping and the temperature of your house. A shrimp only tank can be kept at a cooler temperature while a betta prefers warm water. Also keep in mind that fluctuations from day to night matter. The good thing about a heater is it keeps it at a constant temperature.