New member, new nano (Aqueon Evolve 2) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New member, new nano (Aqueon Evolve 2)

Hello all!

I have been out of the hobby for awhile, but got bit by the bug again recently. When I started browsing around here I was amazed at all the cool setups people post and decided I wanted a planted tank of my own. This is my first time with a planted tank, and also with a tank this small.

The setup is a stock Evolve 2, with the addition of a 25w heater (it can get pretty cold (60F) in my apt. in the winter so I wanted to make sure the heater was big enough). I also added a small pouch of BioMax to the filter chamber. Currently using the stock LED light, but have ordered a 9W 6500k LED light because the plants seem to be stretching/reaching a bit.

The substrate is CaribSea Super Naturals, and I have added a root fertilizer tablet (split into quarters). To be honest, I don't even remember the names of the plants besides the Wisteria, maybe you guys can help!? And I'm really not sure if I made the best choices of plants for a small tank, so changes may come depending on how they do. I would like to add some moss to the driftwood, and maybe some fine, short grass in the foreground.

I am not sure if I will be adding any fauna. I travel a lot for work, often only get home on weekends, and feeding might be an issue . I would like to have some type of fish or shrimp eventually, but only if I can provide the conditions and care they need.

Thanks for looking, and I welcome any tips and advice.

Last edited by simplechamp; 07-22-2012 at 11:09 PM. Reason: Added to post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-23-2012, 12:35 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
You could probably have a few shrimp if you provided them with some moss or something similar for them to pick at while you are gone.

-Mike