Newbie planning my first planted tank! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-23-2012, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Newbie planning my first planted tank!

Hello all, I'm joining you as a complete planted tank newbie. I've been keeping freshwater tanks for a number of years, but I have very little experience with plants. I have a small 5g tank right now with java ferns that seem to be thriving in low-tech conditions, but I would love to start learning about rooted plants.

I'm planning to get an Aqueon Evolve 2 or 4 gallon as a betta tank, and I'm considering plants like glosso, dwarf hairgrass, sag, dwarf swords, anubias, etc. I have no idea what kinds of plants would thrive in a nano tank, or how to properly balance nitrates, potassium, CO2, etc. If anyone has suggestions for hardy, beginner rooted plants, I'd really appreciate it!

I'm considering a simple DIY CO2 generator with a glass diffuser, but I'm worried about not being able to measure the incoming CO2, or being able to easily shut it on or off. I think a CO2 pump might be overkill for such a small tank, also I'm on a budget ;]

If anybody has any suggestions for a newbie nano planted tank, I would appreciate it a ton! Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-23-2012, 05:01 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (61/100%)
go with the 4 gallon. nanos are harder than tanks over 10 gallons, and the smaller the more difficult it is. both in terms of nutrient dosing and CO2:light balance, and just the physical aspect of planting (hard to maneuver).
so you will go with high light and DIY CO2?
ok so first off you should make it easier on yourself by getting a good substrate. ADA aquasoil amazonia is the best substrate, so get some of that. otherwise you could mineralize some topsoil and cap it with fine grave or sand.