5gs planted (size warning) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-15-2012, 11:50 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (7/100%)
Red face 5gs planted (size warning)

I've had the rectangular hex up and running for maybe a month or so with good results. I'm a college student and short on space, cash, and honestly time, so it's nothing fancy.

I like it though : ) The hood is horrible; so forgive the poor lighting (that's why its so dark on one side).

Second tank is where my murderous fish lives... He kills my snails and it makes it so ripe with algae and dead snails (which stink SO BADLY!) that I find myself tearing it down constantly... Blegh

Both tanks heated, filtered, 6500K 10/day, dose ferts.

FTS:

My first cuttings of the rotala, its never bloomed red before! :') Thats why its a bit bare at top:

Some really happy Suess! : ) :

Used lake rocks in this one, in hopes he'll explore more and be less apt to kill the snails...not working. He's just evil! :

(ran out of plants...LOL!)

What do you think? I'm pretty new to the whole bit and (obviously LOL) have some complications. I got BBA from another member's tank (dang...) and its been a problem, too.

I was thinking more rotala, it seems pretty happy More dwarf hairgrass, too?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-16-2012, 01:25 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
I think the tank would look better with more rotala. You can cut the rotala and replant it. Also if you cut it it should grow more like a bush.

-Mike
Mini-M Journal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mini-M Journal 2:
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-16-2012, 01:30 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Send a message via AIM to Wicket_lfe
new thermometers? hehe, looks good though!

My tank:

my shrimp tank