Planted 10 gal planning stage: help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-05-2012, 07:35 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Planted 10 gal planning stage: help

I'm planning on doing a heavily planted tank. I'm probably going to start it when I get home over the summer. I want it to be something that's VERY low maintenance.

I suppose it would be helpful to tell you what I have.
The bulb I'm using is 15W T8 18" Full-Spectrum florescent light bulb.

I don't know what level of light that is, whether it low or medium, but I'd really like to try something carpeted, I'd like a really nice planted fixture as a centerpiece, I'm still thinking of a fake piece from petco, and strap down some anubias and moss. I've also seen many that are just rock, or a carefully construed pile of rocks complimented with some driftwood.
If you guys can give some CO2 options that would be great because I have no experience with co2.

I really like the look of carpeted grass, I think it was UG? (whatever that is) :/ with I think water wisteria and maybe some swords? I really didn't like the look of the java fern I had, but it's not completely ruled out.

As for inhabitants, I'd like to, once planted, put shrimp in there, then once there are enough hiding places and the shrimp have reproduced enough, I'd like to add some fish that would control the population. Hopefully I could throw some cool snails in there too.

As for substrate, I should probably do it right and use dirt under sand right? That seems to be the crowd favorite. What would be the best dirt to use? What sand do people like? I'd like it to be black. If any plants need tabs I don't see that being a problem.

If anyone could tell me some plant stocking options, that would be very helpful. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-05-2012, 08:23 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianBSHS View Post