How Do You Clean Your Tank? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-31-2012, 02:09 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
How Do You Clean Your Tank?

Hi, I am new to planted tank and wondering how people clean your tank (fish/shrimp waste) when it was in the early stage? In their fully grown stage, I heard that everything will be recycled by themselves, is that true? But in their early stage, I don't think it is possible to clean all the waste with the plants/rocks all over the place. All input is welcome to contribute to my learning curve. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-31-2012, 02:17 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (177/100%)
I only use an airline tube to vacuum the surface of the gravel while not disturbing it.

Planted tanks with shrimp only work differently from fish tanks. Their bioload is very small compared to fish and the plants just take it all in. you will likely have to do a water change from overfeeding than their waste.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-31-2012, 02:25 AM
Algae Grower

Tons of variables impact a cleaning regime.
-Stocking rate (even varies with type of fish)
-Type/size of filter
-Water parameters
-Type and size of substrate.

Let us know what you've got/will have.
One of my planted tanks:
Around 20 gallons, 180 gph canister filter, 25 1-1.75 inch fish. Medium to heavy planting.
I do a 30-50% water change every other week (sometimes waiting 3 weeks) I don't vacuum my ecocomplete substrate, I just sweep the gravel vac over the top to pick up large debris. Clean the glass with a magnet cleaner if/when necessary.
Ideally keeping nitrates below 20, depending on your fertilizer regime if applicable.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-31-2012, 04:13 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower