Self Sustaining Nano-Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 08:44 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Self Sustaining Nano-Tank

Hi Friends,

I am new to keeping an Planted Tank , I am wondering is it possible to have a self-sustaining nano-tank?

Currently i have a 55 G tank, with DIY CO2, and the plants are thriving. But i am wondering is it possible to setup a nano-tank with CO2 from Fishes and 50 % water change regularly...

Is it possible?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 08:56 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (77/100%)
Most people who end up with self sustaining tanks just get lucky. It's difficult to set one up from the start.

Wabi Kusa is just an Aquascape Katamari
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 12:28 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (6/100%)
100% self-sustaining would not be possible AFAIK.

NPT/Walstad-style tanks come close tho. I'm just getting back into the hobby but my previous tank was a 10gal NPT. Plant/fish/shrimp respiration, fish/shrimp waste, decomposing plant matter, and fish food provided CO2 and fertilizer. No water changes at all; just top-offs. No filter even. It was a great tank that required very little maintenance.

That being said, I still fed the fish/shrimp every few days, topped-off the water twice a month, and pruned plants once a month or so.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 03:38 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (4/100%)
get an ecosphere LOL
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 03:44 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsDubC View Post