1 Gallon Planted Question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-06-2012, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
1 Gallon Planted Question

G'Day,
I found a 1 gallon fish bowl in my basement and was wondering how to go about putting plants in it. I have already set up my 29g and a 15g so I am cut off on "big" tanks for a bit. I have seen that there are a lot of options, but I have never done this before. I was going to use soil and cap it with red gravel.
- How much light (CF) do I need?
- What plants can I use for something that small? I currently have crypts, swords, dwarf sag, java fern anubias nana, vals, rotala indica and ludwigia repends in my 15g that I can pull from.
- Does it need a heater? (I don't want to use one)
- From what I understand you don't need a filter as the plants do the work right?
- I have some cherry shrimp I can throw in there.

My water is hard GH 22 and KH 12 pH of 7.8-8.0.

Thanks for your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-06-2012, 06:28 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (8/100%)
I have a bowl set up that is a little over a gallon and in terms of light I would just suggest placing it on a window sill, thats what I am doing.

As for the heater you are probably okay as long as your house isn't terribly cold, id say at least above 60 F to keep your cherry shrimp.

You are correct on not needing a filter as long as you have a high plant content.

Not sure on what plants would be best, I would assume most but you may have to trim them a lot or have a super overgrown jungle look which is cool as well.

Post some pics when you decide!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-06-2012, 06:47 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (2/100%)