spratocaster's Fluval Edge Iwagumi *2-10-12 HC Problems* - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 12-11-2011, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (5/100%)
spratocaster's Fluval Edge Iwagumi *2-10-12 HC Problems*

Hi,

So after lurking for a number of years and drooling over all the great build threads I decided to do one of my own. I have been dabbling in planted tanks for the last 10 years or so, but this is my first attempt at a nano. The plan is an Iwagumi aquascape with HC covering most of the tank and some hairgrass in the back and between the rocks.

I got a deal on a fluval edge tank (<$80 shipped) and even though I may regret it when I'm doing maintenance I couldn't pass up the great look of this tank.

The first upgrade I made to the tank was to upgrade the lighting. I put in some mr16 sockets and added a couple LED light bars from superbrightleds.com. Unfortunately I broke one of the MR16 sockets so I can't show any pics. The new sockets will be in tomorrow so hopefully I can throw them in and snap some pics.

For substrate I am using the ADA Aquasoil Amazonia New "Multitype". The grain size is between the normal and the powder types and seems to be perfect for a nano. I picked up some interesting rocks from the LFS and spent some time arranging them. I came up with this:

I would say I'm 95% happy with it, but I would love to hear some opinions on how to tweak it a little.

Last edited by spratocaster; 02-10-2012 at 01:04 PM. Reason: Changed Title
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 12-11-2011, 05:35 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
I like it. Been thinking about tweaking my Edge for a while, so I'm interested to see how this turns out.
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 12-11-2011, 05:36 PM
Prodigious Plant Pundit

PTrader: (44/100%)