Office Nano - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 02:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Office Nano

So I'm sitting here at work, wanting to get home and start construction of my DIY CO2 system, and wishing I had a tank to look at right now. Thus my sudden interest in a small 1 or 2 gal nano tank for cubicle use. Couple of questions, as I'm no expert.

I see the nano fish list sticky, so I won't ask about those... and I intend to just clip some java fern from my home tank to start here. My questions are more on substrate, lighting, filtration, and the tank.

I was intending to just go to PetSmart and buy the smallest tank they have. What substrate would you recommend for it? I use eco-complete on my main tank, but I don't want to buy a whole bag of it for this nano. My office lights are on probably 10 hours a day, and the tank would not be exposed to direct sunlight. Is that adequate, or should I look into an LED strip or something?

Lastly, I imagine for filtration they just make little mini sponge filters? Being in a quiet office, I would need it to be basically silent... I don't know if that's even possible. Is a filter even necessary?

I'm sure these questions have all been answered before, but I didn't see any comprehensive guide. So any advice on a small nano setup for beginners would be much appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 04:43 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (5/100%)
tank wise you can always do the fluval spec... it may not be the cheapest tank you can find but IMO its worth the extra money. I have been running mine with the stock lighting for about 4 months and I have had no issues. plus it would be a clean look for your office.
post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 04:44 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Well now I'm looking to do something similar to this Walstead bowl.

https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/pl...wl-office.html