My planted 5g Hex (and a few questions) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-20-2011, 03:49 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
My planted 5g Hex (and a few questions)

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting here, so sorry if I ask things that have been discussed to death.. I tried to look around and get a feel for this forum before posting.

This is my first venture back into fish (aside from my Betta) in 5-6 years. I started off with a 12 gallon tank that was kind of planted and bred guppies and sold them to the local pet store. I later broke that tank down and got a ~65 gallon acrylic tank that I wanted to plant but the dimensions were ridiculously frustrating and I was extremely discouraged. It was much taller than it was long and the top only had about an 18"x18" opening for me to get into to plant the tank. So, that combined with tougher high school classes and now college made me break that tank down too. During this time I kept various small planted nano type tanks and kept Bettas in them.

Now that I'm on my own in an apartment now, I have been itching to start another planted nano. The only space I had to work with though is about a 1ftx 1ft plant stand, so I ended up with a Marineland 5g hex. It's definitely not ideal because of the small footprint, but that's okay.

The substrate in the tank is API pure laterite mixed with pea gravel and then some straight pea gravel on top. I got some Bacopa for the back of the tank (its currently pretty small right now though), dwarf hairgrass and crypts for the front of the tank and a java fern to balance out my massive driftwood. There is also a moss ball in there that is hidden by the driftwood and some riccia attached to a rock.