UofAHog's JBJ Picotope - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 11-18-2011, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
UofAHog's JBJ Picotope

This is my first tank in 8 years so please go easy on me. I used to keep planted and reef tanks back when I was in college but got out of the hobby once I graduated. A few months ago my sons said they wanted a fish so I naturally used that as an excuse to start up a planted tank.

Established: October 7, 2011

Tank: JBJ Picotope

Light: 9w PC 7500k

Filter: Stock

Substrate: MTS with Flourite Black cap

Hardscape: Manzanita

Plants: Java Fern, Anubias Petite, Unknown Crypt species x2

Livestock: Betta, RCS x4

I had 1 goal with this tank: Make it as easy to maintain as possible while still keeping it aesthetically pleasing. I needed to keep it simple so that the boys would enjoy it and be able to help with minor tasks to give them some ownership.

With that in mind, I decided to go with a simple driftwood layout to model a sunken stump or branch. The plants are all pretty slow growers as I DESPISE trimming fast growing stems. The local fish store doesn't have the best selection of plants so I did what I could with their available stock. In the future I would like to change out the Java Fern for a narrow leaf variety. Also, I would like to get my hands on some C. Parva to try around the base of the driftwood knot and to fill in some of the empty space from the rear right corner to the front left corner.

My apologies for the dirty tank. Luckily the slimy driftwood fungus is starting breakup this week. I also removed the java moss snag from the upper right corner.

Thoughts/Suggestions/Complaints?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 11-18-2011, 08:26 PM
Planted Member

Looks awesome! Is that a 2.5g or smaller?

-John

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.