Is This A Good Setup? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-07-2011, 09:44 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Is This A Good Setup?

Hi,
I am new to the aquarium hobby and only have a 10 gallon tank without plants. I am considering a mini planted aquarium. I like ADA stuff obviously but am wondering if this combination of stuff would be good to start?

ADA stuff:
ADA Mini S Type R (curved back frosted glass)
Amazonia Aquasoil Powder type (3 Liters)
Power Sand S (2 Liters)
Bacter 100, Clear Super, Tourmaline BC
Liquid ferts?

Other stuff:
Fluval CO2 Deluxe 88 kit (ADA stuff is too expensive)
Hydra Aquatics Retina I LED Fixture (ADA Mini S Solar is too expensive, this one is for marine aquariums with 9500K and an equivalent of 50 watts, would that be OK?)
Other Filter? (I don't want an ADA one because the glass is so expensive)

What other filter should I get? I was thinking maybe an Aquaclear 20 because those are pretty clear so it wouldn't disrupt my aquascape too much. If I do get a HOB filter, I plan to get a small panel heater that will fit in it. I plan to do an Iwagumi. I plan to keep cherry shrimp in it. Does this sound like a good starting set?

Thanks in advance,
shrimpdude
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-07-2011, 10:09 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (76/94%)
If it were me, I wouldn't spend that kind of money and then slap a HOB filter on it... completely ruins it. An eheim or other small canister filter is how I'd go. Also, I don't think that light offers enough light to do much. It is only 4 watts of light, and despite being LED, that means it really isn't much. It will illuminate the tank, but not drive photosynthesis.