Low Budget 2.5 Planted Cube - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-27-2011, 08:54 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Low Budget 2.5 Planted Cube

So I recently received a 2.5 gallon glass cube and I'm planning on converting it into a planted aquarium(duh). I have little previous experience in planted aquariums, or aquariums at all, only having a ten gallon vivarium previously. I looked into the costs, doing a lot of research, and I figured I can make this project go for about 40 dollars. However, I just wanted to check with you experts out there on this, and to see if I can do anything cheaper, or if I'm missing anything necessary. So for prices;
Tank-0
HOB, Red Sea Nan0-12
Heater-12
Play Sand-5
Fish(Shrimp?)-?
Plants-12ish?

So basically, I've done a lot of research, and I'm just wondering if there is anything else I needed to know before I do this? I was expecting the cube to be about 5 gallons, but it turned out to be less :/ so i changed my expectations a bit. Anyways, I'm in college and I want to go as cheap as possible, So thats where I'm at. Basically, any advice before I manage to kill everything? And any stocking advice? I was thinking crystal red shrimp, with maybe a bumblebee goby or two, but I know that I'm extremely limited by the tank size. I would like a dwarf puffer, but I would rather have a bunch of shrimp and one or two other fish, then only one puffer.

Forgot to mention: I have another 5000K 23W CFL left over from my .5 gallon tank, and that might be taken down, so I would have the lamp too. Regardless, the lighting cost at most would be the cost of a desk light, But I think I have an extra, so I'm going to go ahead and assume that this is zero.

Last edited by Ckent42; 10-27-2011 at 09:13 AM. Reason: Forgot Information.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-27-2011, 09:19 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (21/100%)