Planted Nano - my tank seems way too bright for my tetras, please help! :( - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-17-2011, 02:07 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (12/100%)
Planted Nano - my tank seems way too bright for my tetras, please help! :(

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie planted tank dude. First I wanted to thank plantedtank.net, its members and community. You guys are soo awesome!

I have a screw in 5500k/1400 lumen bulb in there that my plants absolutely love... but I don't think my tetras like the brightness. I tried shading with floating hornwort and moving the light farther away, which they sem to like better.

I'm kinda torn because I want my tetras to thrive but I don't want to stunt my plants. I'm looking for a leafier floating plant atm for some shading but I don;t want my red plants to suffer, please help!

best,

R

ps. I hate the little CFL my nano came with, the light quality is poop! don't make me go back
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	111017_Planted Nano.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	85.4 KB
ID:	36199  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-17-2011, 04:44 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (18/100%)
Nice tank... They have shade when it's bright. Just provide some time for natural/room lighting by putting the light on a timer to break up a long photo period. Something like 4on-3off-6on. All of my tetras are lower-level, shade-huggers, too.

Oh yeah, prepare for algae... It's coming. You could put a mesh-screen over the top or a glass cover. Light from that window may be a pea-soup generator.

"If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
If all men count with you, but none too much..."
Kipling

Fluval Ebi Pimp #29
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-17-2011, 05:12 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (8/100%)