ph Problem in 5 gallon Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-17-2011, 04:59 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
ph Problem in 5 gallon Tank

Hello everyone, I am still new to having a planted tank but i am familiar with the basics from a standard setup. I have a 5 gallon tank and currenty cannot get the ph to go up it is staying at 6.0. i have a substrate for planted tanks, the eco-complete brand (only brand my local store had), also for plants sword grass, a hedge, foxtail, marimo ball and java moss. The java moss is about a week new, i havent added fish yet because the ph is so low. Everything else is where is should be, water is not hard, alkilinity is fine, 0 nitrates and 0 nitrites. I tried a ph solution, which i diluted first adn slowly added over the course of a few days got it to 7.0 for about a day then is bottomed out again. Water is clear just acidic, worried that it will kill some plants and throw everything even more off balance

Is there something i am missing or are things going to level out over a longer period of time.

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-17-2011, 05:58 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
Send a message via Skype™ to WATduh
Hi Xelcapytan, how long has your tank been up and running? Is this water coming from your tap or are you adding from a store-bought source? I'm also assuming your tank cycled already...

50b Amazonian Biotype
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Check my latest tank videos below:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

~02-28-2012 Update Video

~Dripping in New Otos
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-17-2011, 06:21 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
Send a message via Skype™ to WATduh