The 5gal puffer jungle - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-17-2011, 05:26 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
The 5gal puffer jungle

I've been putting this tank together for about two months. Most of the first was just planning. Nothing fancy 5gal tank, basic heater and filter. Lighting is 24watt daylight desk lamp. Pea gravel substrate. I have a liquid fert but im scared to see anymore growth! Lol
I wanted the tank to be as stimulating as possible due to it's small size. I put in a slate rock wall and a java moss wall on the other side as background. My puffers love to hunt in both. Its great for hiding snails and eggs.
The inhabitants are 1male and 1 female puffer, 1 algae eater, and a red ramshorn population that is decreasing rapidly.
The tank is still a work in progress plant wise.

Female

The pair. Royally named Speckle and Toad
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-17-2011, 07:34 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)
Any trouble having 2 puffers in 5g tank? I am trying to decide what to put in my 2g Fluval Spec and I'd really love to have a puffer or two in there!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"The fewer our wants, the nearer we resemble the gods." ó Socrates

post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-18-2011, 02:05 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I am pushing it with two puffers. I only just received mine Friday. As of now they are behaving. The female pushes the juvi male out of where she's hunting but that's about it. My tank is heavily planted with lots of hiding spaces so they can get out of each others sight. I also stressed the need for a male and female to the supplier. I wouldn't dare two males.
I am very finicky about my tanks. I over filter and do large weekly water changes. They are dirty fish.
For a two gallon tank I would stay far away from a pair. One... I really don't know.