This is my first planted tank, and it needs some help. Please guide me!! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 07-15-2011, 09:34 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
This is my first planted tank, and it needs some help. Please guide me!!

I'm new to the whole planted tank thing. I've been flopping around between various types of aquascapes, tanks, setups, fish. I had no idea what I wanted to start out with. Everything was pretty much up in the air. Well on a trip to petco to stare at and price things, I saw some Julii Cories. It was decided. I have always have had soft spot for cories, and these ones stole my heart. So I purchased a 6.6 bookshelf aquarium from petco and put 3 of them in. This tank is as long as a 20 gallon. 24"L x 8"W x 9"H. Most people think its at least 10 gallons, alot of them think its around 15. Nice little tank as long as your careful with the acrylic.Anyways, Petco was having a huge sale. But not on my tank. I got two bags of CaribSea Moonlight Sand for $2, and the cories for $5, and two pieces of lace rock for $2. So Everything was pretty cheap (which was good since I only had $70).
It came with a hood, that had one strip and one 18", 15 watt, 6,500K, T8 bulb. It is red tinted I believe. I'm not sure if this is ok lighting or not. The light itself is only 7 inches or 8 inches above the substrate. Its a really shallow tank. Is this fine? Should I get a new bulb? Or add another strip?
My friend had some leftover plants from her tank. So now theres some Red Ludwigia in the right corner. Some java moss on slate on the right side. Water Wisteria on the left, and a few sprigs of MoneyWort right next to it. Also two Mondo grass plants that she had in her tank for a few years.The moss is below the Ludwigia. The Substrate is the CaribSea Moonlight Sand. My LFS was out of root tabs, but I'm going to get some when they get them in.