New to Nanos new advice - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-25-2011, 08:15 AM Thread Starter
Elder fisher

PTrader: (1/100%)
New to Nanos new advice

Hi all just joined due to this section.

I have a long history with FWT and raising TF. Nothing smaller than 10 gals and that was so long ago I do not want to think that far back. It has been 10 years since I have even owned a tank. So I am looking to get back in from scratch.

Anyway I am interested in doing a nano tank. Problem is I am out in the boonies and I have no knowledge of these tanks. So question here is what ones should I be looking for around 3 to 6 gal. Where are good online places to aquire one?

I was on Amazon and saw the Petco slim which would work in one area. Slim is not it's name but it is the one that fits on top of a bookcase. Does anyone have one and if so what is good and bad about it? I am not set on anything just looking right now so any suggestions would be great.

Thanks,
Tamara
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-25-2011, 05:07 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (18/100%)
I talked myself out of getting one for Father's Day and got a Fluval Ebi (7.9G) instead. IMO, the footprint is long for a stand or table. Most bookshelves would probably need extra support, except for the bottom shelf, which wouldn't be convenient for viewing or anything else.

I am getting a new office in August and it is still a possibility... if I can find a place for the footprint. I like the look of it and the length vs depth and height. The light hood sucks, though.

If you really want a 3-6G tank, the "Finnex pico aquarium deluxe" at Amazon is an awesome 4G kit at a great price. You're basically buying the light and canister filter and getting the tank free, IMO. It was my second choice, but a shrimper here at TPT talked me out of it, because it is only a 4G.