Question about filterless cycling and adding livestock? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-08-2020, 01:49 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question about filterless cycling and adding livestock?

Hi everyone! I recently set up a 5 gallon low tech planted tank and had it for a week now. I’m going for the Walstad method type of tank. I was wondering, when/how should I introduce livestock? I have some fish keeping experience, but I’ve never had plants before. I’d like to have shrimps and snails and a betta. But I don’t have a filter, and I’m not sure how that would affect the cycling process. And I’m not sure if or how I should do water changes since there’s no livestock.

My tank has no tech except for a cartridgeless filter used to stir the water a little for aeration. At least, I think so. The water stream was disrupting the duckweed on the surface and making a mess, so I hung some java moss on the filter and the water is running but silent now.

I use plant substrate and there is some melting going on in my tank, so there should be some ammonia release and surfaces for bacteria to grow on right? I’m basically leaving the tank alone save for occasionally brushing dirt off plant leaves. But since there are no animals, save for like 3 runaway bladder snails that hitched onto the plants, wouldn’t the cycling process take forever? I read some people say with the Walstad method you don’t need to cycle, but personally I don’t feel good sticking animals in new tanks like that.