• 2 Post By Deanna
  • 1 Post By Reece_Huff
  • 1 Post By Oughtsix

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-13-2020, 01:55 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Can plants grow through gravel

Hi everyone !

I set up a new planted tank a few days ago (on july 5th). I keep the light on from 8 a.m. to to 10 p.m. I checked the pH and it's neutral. I notice that my plants are dying. I keep finding and picking dead roots from the gravel. I'm worried that the coarse gravel is crushing the roots or something like that. I have a layer of aqua soil underneath the gravel but I'm worried that even if new stems start growing in the aqua soil, they can't grow through the gravel.

I don't have any fish yet, and so I have been thinking about emptying the tank, and redo the set up with fine sand rather than gravel. But I don't know if it's necessary or if I'm just being impatient. Sorry I'm a bit new at this, I'm trying to figure this out.

Do you have any suggestions ? Thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	108005836_1002000013552839_2806503890759643724_n.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	321.1 KB
ID:	900869  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-13-2020, 04:15 PM
Planted Tank Guru

It is normal for plants to struggle and fade when newly planted. They should be fine in your substrate and will spring to life if light and nutrients are sufficient. Aquatic plants take nutrients mainly from the water column, not through the substrate, and your aqua soil will readily provide the nutrients needed throughout the tank. However, there may be gaps in nutrients (fish will actually help fill many of the gaps).