Plagued with BBA and GSA - Should I start over? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kathyy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-16-2020, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Unhappy Plagued with BBA and GSA - Should I start over?

Hi all,

I know there are numerous threads that exist on BBA, how to cure it, causes, etc.
I'm relatively new to the hobby, but I have educated myself extensively on it.

Here's my dilemma: When I first set up my tank, I didn't know what I was doing at all.
What started as a small, single patch of BBA, soon took over my entire tank.
After crying profusely for 2 months straight, and threatening to never own a tank again, I learned enough about my mistakes to have relative success in dealing with most of my algae issues.

At first, I had high lighting, no pressurized CO2 (only API CO2 Booster supplementation), and not enough plants to start.

Now, here's my current setup (tank has been set up for around 8mths):

Aquarium: 6g Fluval Edge with included filter
Lighting: 14w LED that sits on top of tank glass (834 Lumens, unknown PAR)
Substrate: Eco-Complete and some Super Naturals Sand
Fertz: PPS-Pro Method, .5ml Macro dosed daily, .25ml Micro dosed daily, not a fert, but also dose .5ml API CO2 Booster daily
Plants: S. Repens, DBT, Assorted Buce, Banana Plant, Rotala, Creeping Jenny, Anubias Nana Petite, Monte Carlo, DHG, Water Sprite, Utricularia Gramnifolia
Livestock: Asst. Neocaridina, 3x CPDs, 2x EDRs, 1x Zebra Nerite
CO2: Pressurized CO2, diffuser placed under filter, drop checker always green when lights on.

I have been spot dosing H202 for riding the tank of BBA. Though it's showing relative success with the BBA turning red, I think I'm still getting some new BBA.

My rocks are especially hit hard by it. Where I've spot dosed H202, the BBA has turned red, but not gone away. It's like a puffy red coating on most of the rocks.