Need More Advice for 5 Gal. Portrait Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-30-2020, 05:53 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Need More Advice for 5 Gal. Portrait Tank

Hey guys. I just started using this website and I am fairly new to tank-keeping as well. I purchased a Marineland 5 gallon portrait tank about 6 months ago, and have went through phases with fake plants and live plants, but am sure i want to stick with a planted tank for good. The tank has a divider that separates the filter cartridge, bio sponge, and submerged pump from the rest of the tank. I want to turn it into a heavily planted tank with low maintenance/tech but don't quite know where to start. I had the idea of doing a heavily planted tank with no CO2 or filter because I have seen many successful planted tanks like that, but just don't know where to start, or what plants/snails/fish/shrimp/wood/rocks would be best. Being only a sophomore in high school, I don't have the biggest budget, but would like to improve in my skills and knowledge in tank keeping. I would greatly appreciate help and advice from someone a little more knowledgable and experienced.

Last edited by timelord03; 04-30-2020 at 10:42 PM. Reason: changing title
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-30-2020, 06:08 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (1/100%)
Welcome to the hobby!

Those heavily planted tanks with no CO2 or filters that you've seen are most likely Walstad tanks. You should be able to replicate that by following her techniques - there a several guides online, or you can read her (Diana Walstad's) book "Ecology of the Planted Aquarium".