fertilizers for planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-20-2020, 07:50 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question fertilizers for planted tank

hello,
i have a planted tank with medium amounts of plants that are red and green, i am currently using tropica premium fertilizer and i have a fluval stratum soil and diy co2, my plants are showing potassium and iron deficiency so i ordered ADA brighty iron and brighty K, and i just wanted to ask if i can mix the two or if i should use only one, if someone is using both please recommend something to do or a schedule.
Thank You in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-24-2020, 10:00 PM
Algae Grower

I am sure you can mix them, though I am no expert on ferts. I am lazy, I usually just buy something like the Thrive line by gniloc.

Buce Fiend - Small Tank Keeper
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-26-2020, 10:51 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)
General rule of thumb never mix chemicals hehe. But plant ferts as long as your dosing right away i never had any problems. Just dont keep mixed long term could cause chemical reaction problems (liquid form)

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-26-2020, 01:04 PM
Algae Grower

I would be weary of mixing them. I am not versed with the ADA line of products, but I do know that the chelator used for iron differs -- if you add the iron mixture with something that will displace the chelator, you will not be supplying iron to your plants because it will get locked up in a form that plants cannot uptake.

I would dose them 12 hours apart. I dose my macros at night and my micros in the day - daily.

Note I may be wrong on the chelators specific to ADA products and they may very well be ok to mix. I looked up the product but I couldn't find the details.

Cheers,
Josh
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-28-2020, 04:12 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)