New Scaper with a cool build. IM 25g lagoon - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 02:34 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New Scaper with a cool build. IM 25g lagoon

Hey so quick background im 28 living on Long Island and im new to planted tanks and aquascaping. Ive had several fish tanks in the past to include successfully breeding guppies and betta fish i also had a thriving African Cichlid tank while growing up. long story short a number of Years with the Marines Corps and other jobs which had be bouncing from place to place i never really had an opportunity to get back into the hobby. Im since settled and have already begun to hammer away at the research and dive into purchasing some cool new tech thats developed since i was last in the hobby. I would be extremely receptive of any great input and helpful advice on how to maybe better my setup or point me in the right direction of better products. I have a few goals that may not be achievable, i also understand that i may have to settle on a few of all the idea i have for this tank. This is what ive come up with so far im still open to change things such as design, function or hardware where it make sense to do so.

Goals for this Tank:
Heavily planted tank to include a carpeted foreground tall plants to group to the water surface of 12" and maybe even floating plants.
Wood and blue stone to add to the density
Get red color in some plants
Potentially have Male and a few female bettas in tank. Also Cardinal tetras and a few fancy guppies.
i understand bettas dont get along but im going to test it with a large shallow tank with lots of plant to create separation.